2024 Vice Commodore’s Cup

The Vice Commodore’s Cup races were held on the weekend of 15 and 16 June, with the Saturday being for single-handed boats, and the Sunday being for the double-handed classes. Results can be found on the Race Results page. Thanks to the various people who provided race officer and rescue boat services over the weekend.

Saturday was very light and shifty, however a good fleet of 13 Lasers / ILCAs completed, along with one D-Zero. Exciting (interesting?) racing was had, including an unusual start line, a change of sailing instructions during the event, a change of course mid-race, and a switch to a committee boat start for the third race. One notable incident arose when the fleet congregated on the leeward mark at one point when the wind picked up from behind, leading to a raft of boats bunched round the mark, multiple collisions, and, remarkably, not a single protest or penalty! After three races, Iain Millar emerged as the winner, with Andrew Hewett and Ian Price in second and third places, separated by Andrew having the better discard result.

The Sunday racing covered three fleets – Enterprises, Mirrors, and “Others”. Well done to all competitors, and in particular Tiana and Oscar who, as juniors, sailed an RS Feva to win the “Other” group. Honourable mentions too, of course, go to Charles and Rory in the Enterprise, and David who won the Mirror class in his first race in the boat.

Iain Millar, winner of the Laser class
David Redpath, winner of the Mirror class
Rory Shannon (left) with helm Charles Morrish, winners of the Enterprise class
Oscar (crew) and Tiana (helm) Unger, winners of the “Other DH” class

Leave a Reply

Theme: Overlay by Kaira